Smart Home Starter
The Smart Home Starter team picks the products and services we write about. When you buy through our links, we may get a commission.

How To Disconnect Nest Thermostat From Account

Last Updated Jun 22, 2022
nest thermostat

Most of the time when we set up a device we don’t think about one day having to deactivate it from our account. You are probably wondering why you would even want to disconnect your Nest Thermostat from your account. 

All of these scenarios require you to properly deactivate the Nest from your account. We will be going over the multiple ways to deactivate your Nest Thermostat from your account and how to reset the Nest to factory settings. 

Deactivating Your Nest Thermostat

Nest has three different models including the Nest Thermostat, Nest Learning Thermostat, and the Nest Thermostat E. The process to achieve deactivation will look a little different per model of thermostat that you own. This guide will break down the differences in the settings menu to achieve our goal. 

One important thing to note down before this process starts is writing down the wiring information, or taking a picture of the wires connected, to ensure that if you do set it back up you have the information readily available to you. 

Steps to Deactivate Nest Thermostat From Your Account Using Nest App

To properly deactivate the Nest Thermostat make sure that you are using a phone that has been connected to the Nest and has administrative access to the account. Here the steps to deactivate your Nest through the Nest app.  

  1. Open the Nest App on the device you are using to control the Nest
  2. Tap the Settings icon in the upper right corner.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select the Nest Thermostat that you want to deactivate. 
  4. At the bottom of this page, press the Remove Thermostat option.

Steps To Deactivate Your Account On The Nest Thermostat

The only requirement for this deactivation to work properly is having direct access to the Nest Thermostat device. Here are the steps to deactivate on the Nest Thermostat. 

  1. Go to your Nest Thermostat and locate the settings page that looks like a gear icon.
  2. Find the appropriate Reset option based on your Nest model.
  • Nest Thermostat E or Nest Learning Thermostat
    • The Settings menu will display the option Reset.
  • Nest Thermostat 
    • The Settings menu will display the option Account
  1. Now press the appropriate option for an account reset
  • Nest Thermostat E or Nest Learning Thermostat
    • The Reset Menu will display an option for Account Connection.
  • Nest Thermostat
    • The Account menu will display an option that says Disconnect. 
  1. Click the appropriate option for your model and the Nest will now  be deactivated from your account. 

Performing a Factory Reset

The Nest is now removed from the account but there is another series of steps on the Nest Thermostat that will need to be completed to ensure that your data is not on the device. This is helpful if you are giving away the nest or selling it to someone else. It is important to follow the above steps first before erasing the device to ensure that it is no longer connected to your account and the app.

There are two different options for resetting the Nest Thermostat. The first one is called a restart. This option will not erase any of your personal information and is mainly used for troubleshooting purposes. A factory reset is erasing all connect and setting from the device, leaving no trace of personal information. 

Steps For Performing a Factory Reset On Nest Thermostat

To factory reset your Nest Thermostat, follow these steps: 

  1. On the Nest, locate the settings menu that will be shaped like a gear. 
  2. Find the appropriate Reset option based on your Nest model.
  • Nest Thermostat E or Nest Learning Thermostat
    • The Settings menu will display Reset.
  • Nest Thermostat 
    • The Settings menu will display Factory Reset.
  1. Restore the device based on your Nest model.
  • Nest Thermostat E or the Nest Learning Thermostat
    • Click All Settings.
  • Nest Thermostat
    • Follow through with the Factory Reset option. 

Now that all the steps are completed, the Nest is now deactivated from your Nest account, all user data is disconnected, and erased if necessary. 

It is important to note that when you are moving to a new house with your Nest, all options above may not be required. Deactivating the device from the home is necessary to establish a connection with a new home. If you would like to save the smart data that is recorded like schedules and Eco settings, refrain from performing a Factory Reset of the Nest. 

Conclusion 

The Nest Thermostat has a very specific way of deactivating your account to properly protect you and your data. To achieve account deactivation simply go to Settings on the Nest and remove the Nest product from the Nest app on your phone. When following these steps in the order given in this article, you can achieve a seamless process of deactivating your Nest products. 

Sign up for our newsletter
Submit
Smart Home Starter
This site is owned and operated by Time Off Club, LLC. Smarthomestarter.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This site also participates in other affiliate programs and is compensated for referring traffic and business to these companies.