Advancing technology is finding its way into our daily lives and not only keeps us connected but enhances our security as well. Nest cameras are a great way to keep an eye on your home, and smart alerts help you attain peace of mind.

Nest Cams automatically erase your video and history on a rolling basis. Still, you can manually delete the history using your home app or Nest app on any of your devices. Select your camera on the home or Nest app, go to settings and delete the video history. Confirm to erase all your video history permanently.

You are probably still curious about how to delete the video and snapshot history of your Nest Cam. In this article, we address how you can access and delete your Nest Cam history and snapchats.

How Long Does Nest Keep Video History?

Your Nest Cam video storage is cloud-based but automatically expires and is deleted regularly. How often the video history is automatically deleted depends on the following;

  •  Your Nest subscription. Your old Nest video and snapshot history are automatically deleted when the subscription period expires.
  • If you do not have a subscription, your Nest Cam stores video, and snapshot activity for three hours then automatically deletes it.
  • You cancel your subscription. Your video history automatically is deleted when you cancel a subscription or remove the camera from the Nest app.

You can access the live video stream and three hours of the video history of your Nest Cam without a subscription. However, a subscription offers more secure cloud storage, and you can access your video history at any time. 

If you’d like to learn more about Nest cam, take a look at this article.

How Do I Check My Nest Camera History?

If you have a Nest subscription, you can log into your Nest app account on your phone, tablet, or computer and can access your video history at any time. After logging in, you can access your video history on the home screen of your Nest app below the live feed.

The history includes a timeline and history of the activities recorded, which help you quickly identify the important events. Click on the dot on the timeline that highlights the beginning of the recorded activity, and your video will start playing from that point.

Additionally, the event history gives you a video snapshot and outline of events like sound and motion that your Nest cam recorded. You can filter the events you want to see in a few simple steps:

  1. Log into your Nest app
  2. Select the camera on your home screen
  3. Tap on the event history and select filter
  4. Choose the events you want to see and click done.  

It is important to note that you need a Nest aware subscription to filter events, and the kind of camera also influences the events you can filter.

How Do I Delete Part of My Nest Video?

If you want to create more space, you can easily delete your video history and snapshots. Follow the following steps to delete part of your Nest video:

  1. Open your home or Nest app and log into your account
  2. Choose the camera with the video you want to delete
  3. Select settings and tap on delete video history
  4. Confirm to delete

Keep in mind that you cannot recover the erased videos, and if you want to keep part of the video, you can create and save up to three hours of video on your Nest app. Alternatively, you can download them on your phone or computer.

You can disable video history if you do not want your Nest Cam to save any videos or snapshots. Select the camera on your home screen, scroll to Settings, and then choose no video history. However, it is important to note that you will lose all saved video history when you turn off history.

How Do I Remove Previous Owners from Nest Cam?

To set up your Nest Cam on your account, you need to remove previous owners. Transferring the Nest Cam to your account allows you to edit or delete homes and update your billing information on the Nest app. If your Nest Cam is still connected to the previous owner, you need to ask them to remove it before you can set it up on your devices.

You can remove a Nest Cam from an account in a few simple steps:

  1. Log in to the Nest app and select the device you want to remove.
  2. Scroll to the settings and tap on remove Nest camera
  3. Confirm to remove the device from your account

If you have full access and share control of a Nest Cam account, you can remove devices and change settings. However, only the owner can cancel or update the billing of a Nest account. If you bought a new Nest cam still connected to another account, you should return it to the seller.

Conclusion

Your Nest Cam video storage is automatically deleted when your subscription expires or every three hours if you do not have a subscription. However, you can manually delete your video history on your home or Nest app or create and save important videos on your device.