When Arlo records your footage, many individuals have a concern about what happens to the footage afterward.

What happens to the footage Arlo records? All of your recorded footage goes to the cloud. The footage is encrypted and can only be accessed by username and password. Arlo does not open your recording without your permission.

Not only does Arlo give you a secure network to store all of your saved recordings but they give you a healthy amount of time to view your stored footage.

How Long Is The Footage Stored?

Originally recorded video footage is stored in the cloud for free, for 7-days. With an Arlo Cloud subscription plan, Arlo Cameras (Like the Arlo Pro) will let you store your recordings for longer than the original seven days. Once those seven days are gone, Arlo will delete those clips to make room for more.

The following cameras have access to the Arlo Cloud subscription plans:

  • Arlo Wire-Free Cameras
  • Arlo Pro
  • Arlo Pro 2
  • Arlo Pro 3 (Comes with a free Arlo Smart trial)
  • Arlo Ultra (Comes with a free Arlo Smart trial)
  • Arlo Go
  • Arlo Q
  • Arlo Q Plus
  • Arlo Baby

If you choose not to purchase the Arlo Cloud subscription that gives you 30-days to view your recordings, you will still have the ability to:

  • Keep recordings for 7-days
  • Live stream video footage
  • Use two-way audio
  • Have access to local storage
  • Access activity zones on up to 5 cameras

While you may only be able to view video footage from up to 7-days ago, there is a way to receive a continuous viewing of your video footage.

Curious if you can use the Arlo without WiFi? Read all about it here where we dive into all the details.

Using the CVR Option

CVR stands for continuous video recording that is available for certain cameras in Arlo’s lineup. This feature allows you to record everything all day, every day.  Those cameras include:

  • Arlo Pro 2
  • Arlo Ultra
  • Arlo Q
  • Arlo Q Plus
  • Arlo Baby

The downside to this feature could prove to be trivial to some, however, Arlo will not let you download CVR videos. So, you can only watch them from the cloud in 1080p. To acquire the CVR feature you will need the following:

  • Have a compatible camera
  • Choose between a 14-day or 30-day CVR subscription plan
  • Purchase an outdoor or indoor power adapter. Arlo states that your camera needs to be plugged into AC power.

Some of you may be wondering if accessing your CVR video footage is any different than scrolling through the cloud or live streaming. To access the CVR timeline on your Arlo camera you must follow these instructions:

  1. Open your Arlo app on your smartphone or tablet.
  2. The Device page should come before you.
  3. Next, tap on the Menu button for a camera that has access to a CVR subscription.
  4. You can now tap on the Timeline tab. Depending on your subscription plan, you can view clips from your cameras as far back as 14 to 30-days.
  5. Once you are finished viewing the footages, you can tap on the Done button.

CVR can help you to obtain the comfort of knowing that you have access to all of your video recordings. However, there are times where footage can be deleted, and this is where you can learn how to get them back.

Can Deleted Footage be Restored?

Everyone is capable of making mistakes. There are times when you are scrolling through your camera footage and you or someone else accidentally deletes am video. With Arlo, you are able to add the Cloud subscription plan to your security system.

The Cloud Subscription plans are:

  • Arlo Smart Premier: This plan will let 1 to 5 cameras save their video footage on the cloud. You have 30 days to view your clips after they have been recorded.
  • Arlo Smart Elite: The Elite plan can hold videos that record in 4K of up to 5 cameras. Just like the premier plan, you have 30 days to view any of your recorded video footage.

With the Arlo Pro 2 Base Station, you have access to local storage. This means that you can connect a USB device to the base station which allows you to save any video clips that you need. The number of videos you can save rests solely in the amount of space on your USB device. The requirements for your USB device include:

  • Being no more than 2TB
  • Must use the FAT32 file system

It is positive to use the USB device even with the Cloud Storage to have two systems working side-by-side. So, if your Wi-fi signal is being disrupted, you can save your videos to your USB device. Also, if something should happen to your footage, you have another alternative to try and retrieve it.

The disadvantage of using the cloud is that eventually, the videos will be erased in 30-days. It is up to you to act fast and store the necessary footages that you need.