Sometimes you need the help of a village to look out for what is yours. Having a shared user on your Ring account can make sure that you never miss a beat when it comes to looking after your property. But what can a shared user do with Ring?

Shared users on your Ring account have access to these key features:

  • Live View
  • Two-way Audio
  • Ring Alerts

With others being able to help you with any alerts or messages you may receive from your Ring ecosystem, it can help put your mind at ease, especially when it comes to the safety of your home. In the remainder of this article, we’ll cover what shared Ring users can and cannot do with their access to your account and Ring device.  

What Can Ring Shared Users Do?

So, you have an entire Ring ecosystem that includes Ring security cameras and a Ring Doorbell; maybe you just have a Ring Doorbell. No matter how big your Ring inventory is, you can add a shared user to your Ring account, so they can also access your devices.

Now, when it comes to your Ring account, there are three ways in which you can categorize another Ring user:

  • Full Access User: This user has been given the username and password to the entire Ring account. They can do any and everything within this account without restrictions.
  • Shared User: Ring Shared users are to be invited by the primary Ring account owner. The features allowed to this user are just enough without total control over the Ring account.
  • Guest User: Only used for the Ring Alarm. These users can arm and disarm the alarm with the PIN but do not have access to the Ring app and other features.

With shared users on your Ring account, you can give them access to the following features:

  • Live view 
  • Two-way audio
  • Ring alerts and messages
  • Event history
  • View and share stored videos on the Ring app
  • Store videos on a smartphone or tablet
  • Control the Ring Base Station
  • Lock and unlock connected locks
  • Arm and disarm the Ring Alarm System

It is up to the Ring account owner to know when to remove a shared user. If the shared user is no longer someone they live with or trust, it is best to remove them. This helps keep the number of shared users in check and prevent too many people from accessing your Ring security devices.

What Can Shared Users Not Do on Ring?

It may seem like Ring shared users have access to many features when it comes to your Ring account, but this isn’t exactly the case. You can control what each shared user is capable of doing on your account.

However, by default, Ring shared users are unable to do the following:

  • Add other shared users
  • Activate Alexa-enabled devices to answer and react to your doorbell
  • Use Alexa for other features on your Ring devices
  • Delete videos
  • Delete other devices on the account
  • Change settings
  • Change Ring device names

The above features of what a shared user cannot do may give Ring account owners peace of mind; while a shared user has access to your Ring’s videos, they cannot delete any footage (accidentally or otherwise).

Adding and Deleting a Shared User on Ring

The process to add a shared user to your ring account—or delete them—is pretty simple.

Add User to Ring Account

When it comes to adding a shared user, follow these steps:

  1. Open your Ring app to the main home page.
  2. Locate the Settings button and tap on it to reveal the “+” button in the upper right-hand corner.
  3. Next, enter the email of the person you would like to have as a shared user.
  4. “Assign the Role” you want that shared user to have with your Ring account.
  5. Hit the “Send Invite” button. Now, all you have to do is just wait for them to accept it and create their own Ring account.

Remove User from Ring Account

If you wish to remove a friend or family member who you no longer feel should be a shared user on your Ring account, all you have to do is:

  1. In the Ring app, go to the Settings page.
  2. Tap on the Users button and select the user you wish to remove.
  3. There will be a “Remove User” button ready for you to push at the bottom of the screen. They will now be taken off of your account forever.

Connecting Ring to Multiple Devices

As you continue to add more shared users to your Ring account, there will be more connected personal devices to your account. Even if you were to give someone full access to your account, they still must use their own device to access it.

Some Ring shared users may have a tablet and a smartphone connected to your account, while the owner will have all of their smart devices connected to their account. There are no limits to how many devices can be connected to one Ring account.

Need to change owners instead of share access to your Ring account to other users? Check out this article for more tips!