IFTTT applets can get complicated, so it’s okay if you ever feel hesitant about deleting them without worrying about messing up an existing IFTTT connection. But there’s no need for concern; there is a safe way to remove an applet from your account.

What is the safest way to remove IFTTT applets completely? It is easy to remove an IFTTT applet by deleting it from the IFTTT account. Some applets may also have permissions stored on the third-party’s website or app. These permissions will need to be revoked to remove the applet entirely.

If your IFTTT applets continue to run after you delete them, there are several troubleshooting tips you can try including completely deleting your IFTTT account and creating a new one.

How to Remove IFTTT Applets

Here are the steps to delete an applet from your account:

  1. Go to your online account at ifttt.com or open the IFTTT app on your phone or tablet.
  2. Select the service of the applet that you want to delete.
  3. Choose the applet.
  4. Select the setting icon in the top-right corner.
  5. Scroll to the bottom and select “Delete.”

Why Do Deleted Applets Still Run Sometimes?

Some users have reported that even after deleting an applet, the applet still works. The applet will not show up in the user’s IFTTT account, but it will still run when triggered. Some people have even deleted their IFTTT account entirely, and the applet continues to work.

This issue of deleted applets still running seems to be most common with Google applets. Many users have reported that their Google Assistant applets continue despite removing the applets and their permissions.

Many social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter also have their own IFTTT permissions. These permissions may allow applets that use these services to continue to run after you’ve deleted them from your IFTTT account.

How to Completely Remove Unwanted Applets

To delete applets entirely, you will need to remove the IFTTT permissions in the settings page of the particular app or website that provides the IFTTT service.

Click on the links below to access the settings for popular services that have applets:

For Google, Facebook, and Apple, the accounts also need to be unlinked from IFTTT using the directions below:

  1. Go to ifttt.com.
  2. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner.
  3. Select “Account.”
  4. Scroll down to “Linked Accounts.”
  5. Click “Unlink” next to the account you wish to remove.

If you are still unable to stop your deleted applets from running, I recommend contacting customer service for the service that the applet uses.

Deleting Your IFTTT Account

Completely deleting your IFTTT account will remove all your applets. You cannot delete your account using the IFTTT app. You can only delete your account on the IFTTT website using the following steps:

  1. Go to your IFTTT account page.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select “Delete my account.”
  3. Choose the reason why are you deleting your account.
  4. Enter your IFTTT account password.
  5. Select “Delete my account.”

If you created your IFTTT account with your Google or Facebook account for quick login, you will need to reset your password before deleting your IFTTT account. Use this link to reset your IFTTT password.

Once deleted, your account cannot be reinstated. If you want to use IFTTT again in the future, you will have to create a new account and reconnect all your applets, accounts, and devices. Therefore, this option should be the last resort for those who want to continue using IFTTT.

Managing Applet Settings

There are several other ways to manage your IFTTT applets if you do not want to delete them.

Turning Off Applets

If you don’t want to use an applet or connection, but you think you may want to use it again in the future, you can turn it off. This doesn’t delete the applet, and you can turn it back on at any time.

Here are the instructions for turning off an applet or connection:

  1. Go to your account at ifttt.com or open the IFTTT app.
  2. Select the service of the applet that you want to turn off.
  3. Choose the applet.
  4. Toggle the button off.

Editing Applets

Applets can also be edited. You can edit pre-made applets or ones that you create yourself. To edit the settings of an applet, click on the setting icon for that applet. You will then be able to change any editable settings. When you are finished making edits, don’t forget to press “Save.”

The specific settings that are editable depend on the service, trigger, and actions of the applet. Applets that you made yourself will have more editable options than pre-made applets.

Conclusion

In conclusion, the simplest way to remove IFTTT applets is to delete them from your IFTTT account. If they continue to run, make sure to remove any IFTTT permissions from the applet services. Another option is to turn off the applet temporarily; this will allow you to use it again in the future easily.