Resetting your Google Nest account has many benefits depending on the reasoning for resetting the account. Resetting your Google Nest account can be beneficial if you are moving, selling your Nest, or if you wish to no longer use your Google Nest.

Resetting your Nest Account is a simple task that takes minimal time to complete regardless of the type of Google Nest device you are using. To reset it, the account owner needs to go into the app and confirm that they want to remove the account. However, there are other things to do if you don’t want to delete your account for good.

Keep reading to learn some reasons for resetting, how to reset, and what to do if you no longer wish to have your Google Nest account.

Deleting Your Google Nest Account

Deleting your Google Nest Account is the best option if you are no longer using your Nest devices whether it be due to selling, giving away, or being no longer interested in these devices. Deleting your account is very simple and can be complete with your cellular device, computer, or tablet.

  1. Sign in to your Google Nest Account on the app.
  2. Tap “Settings”.
  3. Go to “Account” and select “Manage Account”.
  4. Select the option to remove your account and confirm the removal of your account. After deleting your account, you should receive an email.

Reasons for Resetting Your Google Nest

As described above, there are many reasons you may want to reset your Google Nest. The main reasons for resetting your Nest include moving residences, selling your Nest, or deleting your Nest account due to infrequent use or no longer wanting your Nest. The only way to ensure your Nest account returns to its original factory settings is to perform a factory reset.

Why Perform a Factory Reset On Your Google Nest?

Performing a factory reset will return the Google Nest to its original factory settings which will wipe all of your personal and preferential settings from the Google Nest. In the event you want to delete your account and no longer use Google Nest, this is the most secure way to ensure none of your data is saved.

Much like deleting your account, factory resets are also beneficial if you are moving from your residence and leaving your Google Nest for the next owners or if you want to sell your Google Nest. Performing a factory reset is a simple task and takes minimal time to do regardless of the Google Nest you are trying to reset. We will discuss how to reset the Google Nest Hub, Hub Max, Nest Mini (Generation 2), and Home Mini (Generation 1).

Factory Resetting your Nest Products and Account

The factory reset instructions below provide factory resets for Google Nest Hub, Hub Max, Nest Mini, and Home Mini. As previously discussed, factory resetting will return the Google Nest to its original factory settings.

Factory Reset for Google Nest Hub and Hub Max

Performing a factory reset for Google Nest Hub and Hub Max is a simple task and involves only one step.

You will hold down the elongated button on the backside of the Google Nest Hub or Google Nest Hub Max. A notification will pop up on the Nest screen notifying you that you are performing a factory reset.

Keep reading to learn how to reset the Google Next Mini (Generation 2) and Google Home Mini (Generation 1).

Factory Reset for Google Nest Mini and Google Home Mini

Performing a factory reset on Google Nest Mini is just as simple as a factory reset on Google Nest Hub or Hub Max. To identify that you have a Google Nest Mini, you should have a mounting space on the back of the device.

  1. Flip the switch on the mic to off. This will make the lights turn orange.
  2. Press down on top of the Nest in the center of the lights.
  3. After about 15 seconds, you will hear a chime to let you know that the speaker was restored to its factory settings.

If you do not have a mounting space on the back of your mini device, then you have a Google Home Mini. Follow the instructions below to reset your Google Home Mini.

  1. Locate the button on the bottom of the speaker near the power cord.
  2. Press and hold the button for 15 seconds until you hear a chime. The chime represents that the speaker has been reset to factory settings.

Now that you know how to factory reset your Google Nest device(s), you are able to safely sell or give your device to new owners with the satisfaction of knowing that your personal and preferential settings have been wiped clean.

Once your factory settings are wiped, you will likely want to delete your Nest account if you are no longer using Nest devices.

Conclusion

As discussed, resetting your Google Nest devices and deleting your account are very simple actions and take little to no time to complete. Whether you are giving the device away or no longer using your device, the factory reset will be the most beneficial and safest way to ensure you have wiped your devices clean of all personal and preferential settings.