Smart Home Starter
The Smart Home Starter team picks the products and services we write about. When you buy through our links, we may get a commission.

How to Remove Nest Cam From Account

Last Updated Dec 8, 2021
smart home device
Tech Supportal
Whole home tech support for less than two coffees a month.
Join Tech Supportal and enjoy 24/7 tech support for your connected home. Get Started

The Google Nest Cam comes in indoor and outdoor formats and can be a great addition to the safety of any smart home. You can easily access the Nest Cams from the Nest app, but you may sometimes need to remove one of them from your account.

To remove a Nest Cam from a Nest account, sign in to the Nest app, then select the relevant Home space. After that, pick Settings, where a full list of Nest products associated with the account can be found. Pick the option to remove the specific product, then confirm it.

If you have a Nest Cam you no longer need to use, you may wish to remove it from your Nest account for convenience. Read on to find out more about this process.

How to Remove Nest Cam From Account

The Nest Cams come in outdoor and indoor versions. They are easy-to-use surveillance cameras that can boost your home security and that you can access from anywhere at any time with the Nest app. They record 24/7 footage and automatically switch to night vision when needed.

Nest Cams can send alerts to your app if something happens that warrants your attention. If you’re on the go, you can check out what’s happening on your phone. If you no longer need a Nest Cam, you can remove it from your account following a few straightforward steps:

  1. Open the Nest app on your device and sign into it.
  2. Find the Menu option in the top left corner and select it.
  3. Pick the relevant Home that includes the product you want to remove in it.
  4. Once you are in the Home space, find the Settings.
  5. You will be presented with a list of all the Nest products that you have in that home space.
  6. Choose the product you wish to remove (in this case, a Nest Cam), and pick the option to remove it. Confirm this task.
  7. If you will no longer use the Nest Cam, you can take the extra step to reset the products, but this is not a necessary step.

Before You Reset the Nest Cam

There are some things to consider before deciding to remove a Nest Cam from your Nest account, especially if you are going to hard reset it. If you proceed with this, your Nest Cam will no longer automatically remember the wifi and password.

If you reset the Nest Cam before removing it from the Nest app, it will change its status to ‘offline’ in the app. You will need to remove it, and only then will you be able to replace it if necessary. When you remove it, you will also lose access to any unsaved data on the cams.

How Do I Remove Previous Owners From Nest?

If you get access to a second-hand Nest Cam, you may have to remove the information of the previous owners from it. To do so, you should first ask the person you’ve bought it from to remove the Nest Cam from their side of the Nest app.

This is the easiest and most convenient solution, but it can’t always be achieved. If you can’t reach the previous owners, you can get in touch with customer support to see if they can help you with this task. With enough security information, they should be able to do this for you.

How Do I Change the Owner of Nest Cam?

If you need to change the owner of the Nest Cam before you remove it, follow these simple steps:

  1. Log into the Nest app.
  2. Choose the Home that includes this specific Nest Cam.
  3. Remove the device from the list.

Once the device has been removed, its ownership can be immediately changed, and someone else can enjoy them. This transfer can be a great way to extend the life of your Nest cams past your own use.

How Do I Reset My Nest for a New Owner?

When you no longer need a Nest Cam, you should perform a factory reset on it, especially if someone else will take over for you. Once you proceed with a hard reset, you should know that none of the custom settings you have on the camera will be saved.

A factory reset erases every setting and every piece of data from the Nest Cam. Here’s how to do a factory reset on it:

  1. Log in on the app, select the relevant home, and pick the cam you want to reset.
  2. Pick the choice to remove the device from your Nest app.

With no factory reset button on the Nest Cams, the only way to perform a hard reset is to remove them from the account.

Conclusion

Removing a Nest Cam from the account can be easily done through the Nest app. You can use this removal as a way to allow a new owner to take over the cam, or even to remove previous owners from yours.

Sign up for our newsletter
Submit
Smart Home Starter
This site is owned and operated by Time Off Club, LLC. Smarthomestarter.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This site also participates in other affiliate programs and is compensated for referring traffic and business to these companies.