Webex is a one-stop-shop for virtual communication between teams of all different sizes. However, you may want to delete your account after a while for one reason or another.
To delete your Webex account, you will need to first log in. Once you are logged in, you can delete your account through the Settings page. Keep in mind that Webex only offers you the option to delete your account, not deactivate it. Once it’s deleted, you will not be able to reactivate your account or recover any data.
Below, we’ll discuss how to delete your Webex account in detail, as well as some reasons you may want to.
Webex is a program that allows teams of all sizes to call, message, and video conference with each other. To use Webex to the fullest extent, you just need a computer and a reliable webcam. Over the past couple of years, software like Webex has become incredibly popular. With so many people working from home, many organizations are realizing just how convenient it is to hold meetings virtually rather than in-person.
Webex offers users free accounts, as well as several paid options with additional features. A free Webex account allows you to hold meetings up to 50 minutes in length with up to 100 participants. You can also call anyone else with a Webex account, using a VoIP connection, and message other members of your team.
As you go up in pricing, paid options allow you to hold longer meetings with more participants. Certain plans also allow you to call anyone you’d like, even if they do not have a Webex account. For more information on what each plan entails, visit the Webex website.
If you no longer need your Webex account for whatever reason (if, for instance, you decided to use Facebook Portal TV instead), you may want to delete it. If you decide to do this, follow the steps listed below to do so:
- Login to your account, then navigate to your Settings page. You can also go directly to https://settings.webex.com and log in.
- Once you’re on your Settings page, click on the ellipsis (…) on the top right corner of the card that contains your name and information.
- Choose “Delete Account.” Then, press “Ok” to verify the account deletion.
In some cases, you may not see an option to delete your account. If this happens to you, you will have to either open a support case with Webex or contact your Webex administrator to close the account.
After you finish deleting your account, you will be signed out. Your account will be permanently deleted, so you will no longer be able to log back in.
At this point, Webex only offers users the option to delete their accounts. Once you have deleted your account, all of your data will be deleted along with it. There is currently no way to deactivate your account for later reactivation.
Deleting an account and deactivating an account are two similar options. However, there is one big difference between the two. When you deactivate an account, you temporarily disable it. You can log back in and reactivate it at any time. When you delete your account, however, you will no longer be able to log in at any point. If you want to use the website again, you will have to create a new account.
Reasons You May Want to Delete Your Webex Account
You may want to delete your Webex account if your company has switched to another conferencing platform and you no longer need access. In addition, there are a couple of other reasons you may need to delete your account.
Most users use Webex with a free account. If you choose to purchase a paid plan, Webex will create a new site in which you can access paid features. In most cases, this will give you two different sites to choose from after you log in.
This can be confusing for some people. If you keep getting your sites mixed up when you log in, deleting the free version will make using your Webex account much simpler.
If you use Webex for work or school, your company or school might want to add you to a managed plan to allow for more seamless communication. If you originally signed up for the website with a work or school email, the organization might have issues adding you to their account.
In this case, you may want to sign up again, this time using another email. Deleting your original account will save you time and confusion when logging in.
Deleting your Webex account may be necessary for a variety of reasons. If you’ve decided to delete your account, you can do so through your account settings. Keep in mind that this deletion is permanent, and you will not be able to recover your data once it’s done.