Apple has made controlling compatible home accessories like turning off the lights and seeing who is at the door easier than ever with their new Apple Homekit app. However, if you are moving or for a different reason you may be wondering if you can delete an Apple Homekit account.

An Apple Homekit account can be easily deleted off your iOS device through a series of steps as long as you are the owner of the home hub and connected to your home Wi-Fi. You are also able to delete home accounts that have been shared with you as well.

Apple Homekit is a universal app that can be found on all iOS devices like an iPhone 12 Pro Max, iPad, iPod Touch and Mac computer. Read on to find out how to delete your Apple Homekit account.

How to Stop Sharing Your Account in Your Homekit App

You may have given access to a significant other, parents or dog walker and want to stop sharing your home hub with them. To do this follow the steps below:

  1. ON your iOS device, open your Home app.
  2. Tap or click the Home icon in the bottom left of the screen, then select the Home Settings icon at the top left of the screen. If you have multiple homes, choose a home, then select Home Settings. 
  3. Under People, tap or click the user that you want to remove from your home.
  4. Tap or click Remove Person.

How to Delete Apple Homekit Account

Deleting an Apple Homekit account off your device only takes a few simple steps once you are in the app interface and connected to your homes Wi-Fi. In the app open up the home settings on the top left corner of the screen and choose the home you wish to delete. Scroll down to the bottom and click “Remove Home.”

A caution will pop up stating “Removing this home will also delete all of its data from iCloud” along with Remove and Cancel options. If you want to proceed – click the remove button and you are all set.

How to Remove Specific Accessories from Apple Home App

If you are having trouble with a homekit accessory or selling the accessory because you upgraded to something new you will want to disconnect and remove the device. To remove the accessory you:

  1. Open the Home app
  2. Locate the accessory you would like to remove
  3. Long-press or hold down on the icons accessory you wish to remove
  4. Tap the Settings gear in the bottom right corner (or just swipe down)
  5. Swipe to the bottom and look for Remove Accessory
  6. Tap it once, then again to confirm

How to Invite and Uninvite Someone to Control Your Home

You may have more than one person in your household that wants to be able to control the devices with you. If that is the case you can easily invite them as long as they have a compatible iOS device. To do this you need will need to follow the steps below

  1. Open the Home app on your iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, or Mac. Tap or click Home, then select Home Settings. If you have multiple homes set up, choose the Home that you want to invite someone to, then select Home Settings.
  2. Then tap or click invite people.
  3. Enter the person’s Apple ID that they use with iCloud.
  4. Tap or click Send Invite.

To stop sharing your home hub with someone is just as easy:

  1. Tap or click Home, then select Home Settings. If you have multiple homes, choose a home, then select Home Settings. 
  2. Under People, tap or click the user that you want to remove from your home. Tap or click Remove Person.

How to Allow Remote Access and Edit Permissions for Users

If you set up a home hub, you can manage remote access and edit permissions for people that you invite to control your home. If you don’t have a home hub set up, they can only control your accessories while they’re at your home, connected to your home Wi-Fi network, and within range of your HomeKit accessories.

To manage remote access and change permissions for a user, open the Home app and follow these steps.

  1. Tap or click Home, then select Home Settings. If you have multiple homes, choose a home, then select Home Settings.
  2. Under People, select the person that you want to edit permissions for, then choose the following:
  3. Control Accessories Remotely: Turn on to allow users to control your accessories from any location. Turn off to allow users to only control your accessories while they’re at your home.
  4. Add and Edit Accessories: Turn on to allow users to add and remove accessories, scenes, automations, and other users.
  5. Tap or click Back, then Done.

Conclusion

Deleting a homekit account from your iOS device may seem like a tedious task at first but once you are in the app interface it is actually a breeze so long as you are comfortable with the account data being deleted from your iCloud.