Perhaps you no longer want to own a Fitbit account or the thought of Google not owning your Fitbit data keeps you all day, or you’re just ready to join the Apple watch community. 

Whatever reason it might be, here’s how to permanently delete your Fitbit account on the app and via the Fitbit website. 

How to Delete Your Fitbit Account on the Fitbit App

These instructions can be used for both iPhone and Android users, as the app settings are similar to each other:

  1. Tap the Fitbit app on your home screen and login if already not logged in. 
  2. Tap on the Today tab at the bottom of the screen.
  3. On the top left corner of the app, tap on the user icon to access the account settings.
  4. Scroll down, and tap on Manage Data.
  5. From the Manage Data, you would see the Delete Account. Tap on it.
  6. After, tap on Delete My Account & Data. You would follow an on-screen prompt that would send you a confirmation email to complete the deletion process. 
  7. Check your email and confirm the deleting process from Fitbit.

Now, let’s look at how to delete it on the website.

How to Delete Your Fitbit Account on the Fitbit Website?

Fitbit also recommends you to delete your account on their website. It’s a method to use if you don’t have the app. Here’s how to do it:

  1. Open your web browser and visit Fitbit.com
  2. On the top right of the page, click on Log in to access the Dashboard.
  3. On the Dashboard, select the gear icon on the top right and click on Settings.
  4. Navigate down to the bottom of the page, then click Delete Account. 
  5. You would follow an on-screen prompt that would ask you to confirm your deletion process by re-entering your account password.
  6. Check your email and confirm the deleting process from Fitbit.

To learn more about FitBit, check our other article.

What Happens When You Delete Your Fitbit Account?

Once you delete your Fitbit account, the process would take up to 30 days from when you confirmed the email request. Deleting the account would delete all previous subscriptions you may have, including the Coach Premium.

The process isn’t immediate because Fitbit gives you 7 days (a week) to still rejoin Fitbit with all your data still intact. Here, you have the option to return if you change your mind to still own your account or if you have forgotten to download all your data from Fitbit before deleting the account. After 7 days, your account will be frozen and won’t be recovered.

According to the Fitbit manual, it takes up to approximately 90 days for all the data and personal info to be deleted because of the size and complexity of their backup system. They also mention they would keep some data for legal and safety reasons. Read Fitbit’s Privacy Policy for more information.

How to Erase Fitbit Data Without Deleting Your Account

If you want to sell or give away your tracker but don’t know how to remove the data, you don’t need to delete the account.

Depending on the type of Fitbit model you have, you can remove the data from your device or do a factory set. These given options can allow you to remove all data and information without deleting your account. It also saves you a lot of time and energy from deleting, creating a new account and pairing it with devices.

How to Reset Our Fitbit

2 Fitbits, Black and purple with a purple background.

If you’re wanting to clear your data without deleting your account, your tracker isn’t synced to your phone, or the tracker isn’t responding, probably. You could reset the device and solve those problems. Some models don’t offer the factory setting option. If you want to know if your tracker can reset, check the Fit manual.

How to Reset a Fitbit Flex and Fitbit Flex 2

To reset a Fitbit Flex to factory setting:

  1. Remove the pebble from the Fitbit.
  2. Insert the pebble into the charging cable.
  3. Connect the Flex charger into your Mac/ PC USB portal.
  4. In the pebble you would see a small, black hole.
  5. Use a needle or a paperclip to press in the hole and hold for 3 seconds.
  6. Remove the needle/paperclip
  7. The Fitbit will then light up and begin resetting.

Now, look at how to reset a FitBit’s charge.

How to Reset Fitbit Charge and Charge HR

To reset a Fitbit Charge device to factory setting:

  1. Connect the charger cable to the Fitbit and plug it into a USB port.
  2. Press and hold the button on the Fitbit for approximately 2 seconds.
  3. Remove the Fitbit from the charger cable without removing your finger.
  4. Continue to hold the button down for another 7 seconds.
  5. Release your finger from the button and press it again and hold.
  6. Once you see the word ALT flash on the screen, let go.
  7. Press the button again.
  8. Once you feel a slight vibration, release your finger.
  9. Repeat the process and press the button again.
  10. When you see the word ERROR display on the screen, let go.
  11. Press the button again.
  12. When you see Erase, slowly take your finger off.
  13. The device would automatically turn off itself.
  14. Then you can turn the Fitbit back on.

Now you know everything.

Conclusion

Now you have done it! You might wait awhile for your entire data to wipe out, but you have a 7 days’ grace to get all your information if you change your mind. You can download all your saved data and export it into your files with or without deleting your account.